President's Club and Honor Roll

The members listed here have qualified for either the AOCS President's Club or President's Honor Roll. All current members who successfully recruit at least one new member qualify for Club membership. Successful recruitment of at least three new members is the qualification for the more prestigious Honor Roll. All Club and Honor Roll members will receive further recognition and the opportunity to participate in other special programs and activities. Special forms for use in recruiting new members are available from AOCS headquarters.

Nine

Edward G. Perkins

Six

Joseph G. Endres

Five

Robert T. O'Connor

Four

Kazuo Fukuzumi Robert C. Hastert Edward M. Lloyd Joseph Pominski Emmett D. Russey

Three

Gregory E. Anekwe Stephen S. Chang Martin Freeman Samuel E. Pack M.K. Govind Rao Francis G. Schmid Brian L. Walker

Two

Robert R. Allen Clyde H. Amundson John D. Brandner Lois S. Crauer Paul D. Cretien David Firestone Wilfred J. Frech Earl G. Hammond Robert Johnson Karl W. Klein Fred A. Kummerow Arieh Letan Andrew M. Lubienski Gerhard Maerker John E. Middendorf Robert L. Ory Herbert L. Rice Joseph Lee Williams

One

Abdel-Hamid Y. Abdel-Rahman Toshimi Akiya Teruzo Asahara Vigen K. Babayan Fred O. Barrett John Blum Francis F. Borba James G. Bradford Lawrence M. Brickman Herman Brown Peter A. Cammelot Kenneth K. Carroll Juan Chavez-Pereza William T. Coleman Sam D. Cunningham Stephen M. Davis John A. Decker Jacqueline Dupont Harold P. Dupuy Herbert J. Dutton Robert L. Edwards Tom Edwards Richard R. Egan Manuchehr Eijadi Reuben O. Feuge Homer Gardner, Jr. Lawrence Gildenberg Cecilia Gilmore Louis H. Going Dale P.J. Goldsmith Louis P. Goodman Dennis T. Gordon H.P. Gormley Richard L. Gregory Ralph A. Hagberg Tetsutaro Hashimoto Albert S. Henick Samuel F. Herb John D. Hetchler Robert J. Hlavacek Charles W. Hoerr Carroll L. Hoffpauir Richard T. Holzmann Joseph R. Houle Raymond H. Jones V. Krishnamoorthi Warner M. Linfield William Link Francis E. Luddy Matthew Lynch Ahmed F. Mabrouk Laurence G. Mackin Richard Eugene Madden H. Michael Magee Richard W. Martin

Tommy R. Massey

Ted P. Matson L. Dave McClung Ernest M. Milligan Henry A. Molteni Toshio Nakagawa Frank H. Passalaqua Nicholas Pelick Arthur F. Pelster William Pontius Roy A. Pritchard Richard Purdy Robert A. Reiners Raymond Reiser Albert M. Reynaud James A. Robertson Ronald Robinson George H.G. Rowland Joseph Sampugna Birger H. Sandal Werner H. Schmidt Arthur A. Schmitz Irving R. Schmolka Suresh M. Shah E. Griffin Shav Frank G. Shea Rex J. Sims Hal T. Slover Lloyd M. Smith Samuel C. Smith Thomas H. Smouse Paul Sosis Robert M. Starr Victor V. Studer James R. Taylor Alexander E. Thomas III A.C. Thompson Toshiyuki Toyama Hans G. Walker Evelyn J. Weber Gordon Wedman Joseph F. Weiss Ernest I. Welles Francis B. White Joseph Lee Williams Earl R. Williamson Randall Wood William C. Wood Clyde Thomas Young

The individuals listed below have applied for membership in AOCS between June 4 and July 6, 1973.

Richard J. Zielinski

Robert K. Arundale, II, dir., Alba Manufacturing Co., 100 W. Indian Trail, Aurora, Ill. 60507

Benjamin Borenstein, mgr., food ind., tech. services, Roche Chemical Div., Hoffmann-LaRoche Inc., Kingsland St., Nutley, N.J. 07110

Thomas James Evans, adm. asst., Petrochemicals Co., Inc., P.O. Box 2199, Ft. Worth, Tex. 76101

Reuben Henry Grinstein, tech. dir., Chemical Specialties Div., PVO International Inc., 416 Division St., Boonton, N.J. 07005

Edward Michael Kushibab, res. chem., Swift & Co., 1919 Swift Dr., Oak Brook, Ill. 60521

Frederick Thomas Lense, vice-pres., res. & devel., Texize Chemicals Co., P.O. 368, Greenville, S.C. 29602

Louis Aurel Lesea, mgr., vice-pres., Thionville Labs. (California), Inc., 2021 Clement Ave., Alameda, Calif. 94501

John E. Moran, asst. plant mgr., C.F. Simonin's Sons, Inc., Tioga & Belgrade, Philadelphia, Pa. 19134

Theodore Perlstein, res. chem., Eastern Regional Re-

search Center, ARS, USDA, 600 E. Mermaid Lane, Philadelphia, Pa. 19118

Valentine Leo Ray, refinery tech. sales serviceman, Swift Edible Oil Co., 1919 Swift Dr., Oak Brook, Ill. 60521

Nils-Herman Schoon, prof., chem. reaction eng., Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden

Irwin L. Shapiro, sr. biochem., J.T. Baker Chemical Co., Research Labs., Phillipsburg, N.J. 08865

Yasuaki Tanaka, vice-chief, Tanaka Kagaku Jikkensho, 19-2 I chome, Utajima-cho, Nishiyodogawa-ku, Osaka, Japan 555

Richard Ferrol Wilson, grad. res. asst., U.S. Regional Soybean Lab., 160 Davenport Hall, University of Illinois, Urbana, Ill. 61801

AOCS Past-President Klare S. Markley dies in Rio de Janeiro

AOCS Past-President Klare S. Markley, retired U.S. government vegetable oil chemist, died July 2 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, where he had resided for the past 13 years.

Born in Philadelphia, Markley received a B.Sc. in chemical engineering in 1924, M.Sc. in chemistry in 1925 from George Washington University, and Ph.D. in chemistry at Johns Hopkins University in 1929.

Markley's career was devoted largely to research leading to greater utilization of farm products and byproducts, especially vegetable oils. In 1927 he served in the USDA, first as assistant chemist and later as associate chemist, and in 1937 was designated as chief of the Regional Soybean Laboratory's oilseed section at Urbana, Illinois. In 1939 he became chief of the oilseed division at the Southern Regional Research Laboratory in New Orleans. In 1945 Markley served as a scientific consultant to the Joint Chiefs of Staff in Europe at the conclusion of World War II. He joined the staff of the Agency for International Development as a vegetable oil consultant in 1952 and served with the agency's U.S. Operations Mission in various countries, including Paraguay, Guatemala, Venezuela and Brazil. Following his retirement in 1960, he continued working as a vegetable oil consultant and author.

He contributed extensively to the technical literature concerned with the chemistry and physical properties of soybeans and fatty acids. His most recent work was a five volume treatise entitled, Fatty Acids—Their Chemistry and Technology. He also authored a two volume publication, Soybeans and Soybean Products, and jointly with W.H. Goss published Soybean Chemistry and Technology. He was the recipient of the Department of Agriculture's Superior Service Award in 1950 and the American Chemical Society's Southwest Regional Award in 1951.

Markley was president of the AOCS during 1944-45 and was a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the American Chemical Society, the American Soybean Association and the Foreign Service Association.

Leo Goldblatt retires

Leo A. Goldblatt, AOCS member since 1952, has retired from his post as chief of the Oilseed Crops Lab., USDA, New Orleans. Goldblatt began working in New Orleans in 1943 when the Naval Stores Research Division was transferred to the Southern Regional Research Center from Washington. Goldblatt moved to the Western Regional Research Center in 1959, and in 1963 returned to assume leadership of the Oilseed Crops Lab. In 1958 he was the corecipient of the USDA's Superior Service Award for the development of hydroperoxides from turpentine and of the Glycerine Research Award for work on tung oil monoglycerides. Goldblatt has authored or coauthored 166 publications and 28 patents.